Posted in:

Facebook plans to let users ‘unsend’ messages, just like Zuckerberg

Earlier this week, tech site Techcrunch reported that Facebook had retracted messages sent by Mark Zuckerberg from the recipients’ inboxes. The messages, sent with Messenger, were claimed to be a ‘security issue’, but there was some backslash from the community. Only Zuckerberg and other high executives had the privilege of having their messages deleted, whereas users don’t have this option.

This might change though, because it may soon be, user will have this option.

Facebook made a statement, saying the following:

We have discussed this feature several times. And people using our secret message feature in the encrypted version of Messenger have the ability to set a timer — and have their messages automatically deleted. We will now be making a broader delete message feature available. This may take some time. And until this feature is ready, we will no longer be deleting any executives’ messages. We should have done this sooner — and we’re sorry that we did not.

With the current system standing, every message you send is stored on Facebook servers (and scanned by Facebooks bots), and deleting them only deletes it from your chat and device. The feature Facebook is claiming to develop and launch, will make it possible to erase a message permanently, after sending it. Permanently means from every device and Facebooks’ servers.

Privacy

It’s no surprise Facebook is gearing up it’s privacy-policies. The recent Cambridge scandal has not put Facebook in the best light, and allowing users to unsend messages would be a step towards a bit more privacy for Facebook users.

WhatsApp recently launched the unsend feature, making it possible to delete messages an hour afer sending. We’re hoping the Facebook unsend option will not have a time-frame.

It’s a step towards a more private Facebook, but a reactionary step.

Written by Djordi Johan

mm

All things geeky.

54 posts